Intact Centre | Commercial Real Estate Media Features

Last Updated: December 7, 2020

2020

2019

2018

References

  1. ^ Experts offer a ‘toolbox’ to protect lives and properties from flooding, Canada’s costliest extreme weather challenge (www.exchangemagazine.com)
  2. ^ Under one umbrella: Practical approaches for reducing flood risks in Canada (www.preventionweb.net)
  3. ^ Des experts proposent une « boîte à outils » pour protéger la population et les propriétés des inondations, le phénomène météorologique extrême le plus coûteux au Canada (rimq.qc.ca)
  4. ^ Experts offer a ‘toolbox’ to protect lives and properties from flooding, Canada’s costliest extreme weather challenge (www.scc.ca)
  5. ^ New National Standards and Guidelines Developed for Increasing Flood Resilience (www.watercanada.net)
  6. ^ National flood mitigation standards and guidelines collected into one convenient UW report (www.kitchenertoday.com)
  7. ^ Come Hell or High Water: Flooding, Climate Change and Municipal Responses (www.amo.on.ca)
  8. ^ Michael Walters on Edmonton Flood Preparedness (www.youtube.com)
  9. ^ Intact’s plan to help you advise your client on disaster resilience (www.canadianunderwriter.ca)
  10. ^ Canada’s grade on flood preparedness: 2016 C- / 2019 C (www.iheartradio.ca)
  11. ^ Flood preparedness in Canada graded C (www.reminetwork.com)
  12. ^ Provinces Not Moving Fast Enough To Assess, Mitigate Flood Risk: Report (livingarchitecturemonitor.com)
  13. ^ Climate change and the preparedness of Canadian provinces and territories to limit flood risk (www.preventionweb.net)
  14. ^ Provinces not moving fast enough to mitigate flood risk (www.youtube.com)
  15. ^ Provinces not moving fast enough to mitigate flood risk (soundcloud.com)
  16. ^ L’Ontario obtient la cote de C dans sa gestion des inondations (ici.radio-canada.ca)
  17. ^ Provinces not moving fast enough to mitigate flood risk (lethbridgenewsnow.com)
  18. ^ Panow (panow.com)
  19. ^ Everything GP (everythinggp.com)
  20. ^ Parry Sound (www.parrysound.com)
  21. ^ RD News Now (rdnewsnow.com)
  22. ^ CFJC Today (cfjctoday.com)
  23. ^ CKOM (www.ckom.com)
  24. ^ Cambridge Times (www.cambridgetimes.ca)
  25. ^ Northumberland News (www.northumberlandnews.com)
  26. ^ Tricity News (www.tricitynews.com)
  27. ^ PR Peak (www.prpeak.com)
  28. ^ Laronge Now (larongenow.com)
  29. ^ Vancourier (www.vancourier.com)
  30. ^ New Hamburg Independent (www.newhamburgindependent.ca)
  31. ^ Humboldt Journal (www.humboldtjournal.ca)
  32. ^ Red Deer Advocate (www.reddeeradvocate.com)
  33. ^ Meadow Lake Now (meadowlakenow.com)
  34. ^ Squamish Chief (www.squamishchief.com)
  35. ^ Sault Online (saultonline.com)
  36. ^ NS News (www.nsnews.com)
  37. ^ Richmond News (www.richmond-news.com)
  38. ^ 570 News (www.570news.com)
  39. ^ Yorkton This Week (www.yorktonthisweek.com)
  40. ^ Times Colonist (www.timescolonist.com)
  41. ^ Burnaby Now (www.burnabynow.com)
  42. ^ New Optimist (www.newsoptimist.ca)
  43. ^ Delta Optimist (www.delta-optimist.com)
  44. ^ Alaska Highway News (www.alaskahighwaynews.ca)
  45. ^ The Province (theprovince.com)
  46. ^ Edmonton City News (edmonton.citynews.ca)
  47. ^ Globe and Mail (www.theglobeandmail.com)
  48. ^ Estevan Mercury (www.estevanmercury.ca)
  49. ^ Bowen Island Undercurrent (www.bowenislandundercurrent.com)
  50. ^ Dawson Creek Mirror (www.dawsoncreekmirror.ca)
  51. ^ Canora Courier (www.canoracourier.com)
  52. ^ Thompson Citizen (www.thompsoncitizen.net)
  53. ^ Kelowna Now (www.kelownanow.com)
  54. ^ Weyburn Review/a>, (www.weyburnreview.com)
  55. ^ Battlefords Now (battlefordsnow.com)
  56. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  57. ^ Castanet (www.castanet.net)
  58. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  59. ^ Kitchener Today (www.kitchenertoday.com)
  60. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  61. ^ Nanaimo News Now (nanaimonewsnow.com)
  62. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  63. ^ Moose Jaw Today (www.moosejawtoday.com)
  64. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  65. ^ City News (www.citynews1130.com)
  66. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  67. ^ Halifax Today (www.halifaxtoday.ca)
  68. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  69. ^ Winnipeg City News (winnipeg.citynews.ca)
  70. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  71. ^ Medicine Hat News (medicinehatnews.com)
  72. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  73. ^ Sudbury.com (www.sudbury.com)
  74. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  75. ^ Kamloops This Week (www.kamloopsthisweek.com)
  76. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  77. ^ Toronto City News (toronto.citynews.ca)
  78. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  79. ^ Kelowna Daily Courier (www.kelownadailycourier.ca)
  80. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  81. ^ Assiniboia Times (www.assiniboiatimes.ca)
  82. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  83. ^ Bay Today (www.baytoday.ca)
  84. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  85. ^ North East Now (northeastnow.com)
  86. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  87. ^ Guelph Today (www.guelphtoday.com)
  88. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  89. ^ Prince George Citizen (www.princegeorgecitizen.com)
  90. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  91. ^ Carly Observer (www.carlyleobserver.com)
  92. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  93. ^ Preeceville Progress (www.preecevilleprogress.com)
  94. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  95. ^ Coast Reporter (www.coastreporter.net)
  96. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  97. ^ Chronicle Journal (www.chroniclejournal.com)
  98. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  99. ^ Deloraine Times (www.delorainetimes.ca)
  100. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  101. ^ Ottawa Times (www.ottawamatters.com)
  102. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  103. ^ Todayville (www.todayville.com)
  104. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  105. ^ The Reminder (www.thereminder.ca)
  106. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  107. ^ Lillooet News (www.lillooetnews.net)
  108. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  109. ^ The Outlook (www.theoutlook.ca)
  110. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  111. ^ Empire Advance (www.empireadvance.ca)
  112. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  113. ^ Pique News (www.piquenewsmagazine.com)
  114. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  115. ^ Todayville Calgary (www.todayville.com)
  116. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  117. ^ News 957 (www.news957.com)
  118. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  119. ^ Yahoo (ca.news.yahoo.com)
  120. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  121. ^ Reston Recorder (www.restonrecorder.ca)
  122. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  123. ^ Melita New Era (www.melitanewera.ca)
  124. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  125. ^ Sootoday.com (www.sootoday.com)
  126. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  127. ^ Kamsack Times (www.kamsacktimes.com)
  128. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  129. ^ New West Record (www.newwestrecord.ca)
  130. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  131. ^ Souris Plain Dealer (www.sourisplaindealer.ca)
  132. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  133. ^ Timmins Today (www.timminstoday.com)
  134. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  135. ^ Canada.com (o.canada.com)
  136. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  137. ^ Orillia Matters (www.orilliamatters.com)
  138. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  139. ^ Lethbridge Herald (lethbridgeherald.com)
  140. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  141. ^ MSN (www.msn.com)
  142. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  143. ^ Our Windsor (www.ourwindsor.ca)
  144. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  145. ^ Penticton Herald (www.pentictonherald.ca)
  146. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  147. ^ Barrie Today (www.barrietoday.com)
  148. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  149. ^ 660 News (www.660citynews.com)
  150. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  151. ^ Airdrie Today (www.airdrietoday.com)
  152. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  153. ^ National Post (nationalpost.com)
  154. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  155. ^ Vancouver is Awesome (www.vancouverisawesome.com)
  156. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  157. ^ CTV News (www.ctvnews.ca)
  158. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  159. ^ Prince George Matters (www.princegeorgematters.com)
  160. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  161. ^ New Market Today (www.newmarkettoday.ca)
  162. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  163. ^ Stalbert Today (www.stalberttoday.ca)
  164. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  165. ^ Collingwood Today (www.collingwoodtoday.ca)
  166. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  167. ^ Cochrane Today (www.cochranetoday.ca)
  168. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  169. ^ IF Press (lfpress.com)
  170. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  171. ^ Thorold News (www.thoroldnews.com)
  172. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  173. ^ Montreal City News (montreal.citynews.ca)
  174. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  175. ^ Elliot Lake Today (www.elliotlaketoday.com)
  176. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  177. ^ World ABC News (worldabcnews.com)
  178. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  179. ^ Epoch Times (www.epochtimes.com)
  180. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  181. ^ CBC Kitchener Waterloo (www.cbc.ca)
  182. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  183. ^ Canadian Consulting Engineer (www.canadianconsultingengineer.com)
  184. ^ , (www.weyburnreview.com)
  185. ^ REMI Network (www.reminetwork.com)
  186. ^ One cheap way for cities to reduce basement flood risk (www.canadianunderwriter.ca)
  187. ^ How basement flood risk could rise with pandemic-induced municipal funding crunch (www.canadianunderwriter.ca)
  188. ^ Insurers warn federal government Canada can’t wait a decade to update flood maps (www.cbc.ca)
  189. ^ Chatham-Kent evacuation order; Mexico strike over violence against women; Italy’s coronavirus quarantine; Richard Louv on Our Wild Calling (www.cbc.ca)
  190. ^ The flooding crisis on First Nations reserves (www.tvo.org)
  191. ^ What’s causing the floods in the east? (www.tvo.org)
  192. ^ Liberals promise national flood insurance (www.thespec.com)
  193. ^ Retreat? Pish. Democrats Dare Not Speak Climate Change’s ‘R’ Word (www.wired.com)
  194. ^ Democrats Are Afraid to Say It: Climate Change Also Means Retreat (www.motherjones.com)
  195. ^ Road collapse that isolated N.S. chocolate factory ignites talk of climate change (atlantic.ctvnews.ca)
  196. ^ What’s driving high water levels in Lake Ontario? (globalnews.ca)
  197. ^ What floats high water in Lake Ontario? (www.dailyhushtoday.com)
  198. ^ Flood map causing headaches as residents scramble to report errors (montrealgazette.com)
  199. ^ Water Levels Are Higher Than Ever In Canada’s Great Lakes & It’s Causing Lots Of Problems (www.narcity.com)
  200. ^ New report says Canada should start adaptation measures to offset climate-change effects (www.theglobeandmail.com)
  201. ^ New Report on Canadian Climate Risks (www.ctvnews.ca)
  202. ^ Government, academic leaders sign ‘Flood Resilient Toronto Charter’ to reduce threat of extreme rainfall (www.thestar.com)
  203. ^ Sandbagging is slow work that requires hundreds of helpers. There’s a better way to do things (montrealgazette.com)
  204. ^ Expensive and now frequent once-a-century floods shifting conversation away from “we will rebuild at any cost” (mantle314.com)
  205. ^ Ontario Floods (www.zoomerradio.ca)
  206. ^ Canada’s Building Code Is Going Green In 2025: Environmental Sustainability (news.shupilov.com)
  207. ^ Canada’s building code is getting a climate change rewrite. Is your home ready? (www.cbc.ca)
  208. ^ Swift action needed to prevent damage from rising seas in Atlantic (www.theglobeandmail.com)
  209. ^ Mitigating and Adapting to Climate Risk (www.naylornetwork.com)
  210. ^ Climate change means Collingwood and region can expect more rain, higher temps (www.collingwoodtoday.ca)
  211. ^ Weathering the Storm: Developing a New Flood Risk Standard for Canadian Communities (www.exchangemagazine.com)
  212. ^ Recommendations made for developing a new Canadian flood resilience standard (www.continuitycentral.com)
  213. ^ Climate-fuelled flooding is Canada’s costliest and fastest-growing extreme-weather challenge, report says (www.theglobeandmail.com)
  214. ^ Intact Centre Report on National Flood Standard Released (www.environmentguru.com)
  215. ^ Intact Centre Report on National Flood Standard Released (www.watercanada.net)
  216. ^ University of Waterloo: Too Small to Fail – How Communities Can Prepare for Bigger Storms (insurancenewsnet.com)
  217. ^ Too Small to Fail – How Communities Can Prepare for Bigger Storms (www.exchangemagazine.com)
  218. ^ Too Small to Fail – How Communities Can Prepare for Bigger Storms (www.ilrtoday.ca)
  219. ^ Toronto’s flooding problem a complex issue (www.cbc.ca)
  220. ^ Ford government silent on climate change plan as experts predict more torrential rain, floods (www.cbc.ca)
  221. ^ Quick uptake on communities flood mitigation report (canada.constructconnect.com)
  222. ^ IBC supports Toronto’s flood resilience program (www.insurancebusinessmag.com)
  223. ^ Rivers Rising: Floods in B.C., New Brunswick a warning of what’s to come (www.ngnews.ca)
  224. ^ Come Hell or High Water, Canada Can No Longer ‘Cheat the System’ When it Comes to Flood Risks: Experts (www.intactcentreclimateadaptation.ca)
  225. ^ Blair Feltmate Featured on CBC The Current with Anna Maria Tremonti (www.cbc.ca)
  226. ^ Record floods show world has changed and N.B. must adapt, scientists say (atlantic.ctvnews.ca)
  227. ^ Insurance industry set to release new neighbourhood-level flood maps for Edmonton (edmontonjournal.com)
  228. ^ Good News for Torontonians – Flood Risk Can Be Managed (issuu.com)
  229. ^ What can be done about flooding in New Hamburg? (www.waterloochronicle.ca)
  230. ^ Bigger floods coming to Canada (www.canadianunderwriter.ca)
  231. ^ Assessing Ontario’s Flood Risks (tvo.org)
  232. ^ Clarington set to stockpile sandbags to deal with future flooding (www.durhamregion.com)
  233. ^ Lakeshore residents get an ear full at flooding open house (www.iheartradio.ca)
  234. ^ Standard Will Help Make New Communities Flood-Resilient: Canada Is Ahead of the Curve (floodlist.com)
  235. ^ Standard will help make new communities flood-resilient: Canada is ahead of the curve (www.exchangemagazine.com)
  236. ^ Best Practices for Building Flood Resilient Communities (watercanada.net)
  237. ^ Ottawa turns to Winnipeg to study flood planning, protection (www.winnipegfreepress.com)
  238. ^ Standard would help flood resilience of new communities: report (www.canadianunderwriter.ca)
  239. ^ Canada working on new flooding standards amid soaring insurance rates (beta.theglobeandmail.com)
  240. ^ Jarvis: ‘We do not have the luxury of time’ (windsorstar.com)
  241. ^ Why do cities allow people to live and build in high-risk, disaster-prone areas? (www.cbc.ca)
  242. ^ ‘Canadians need to do better job of preparing for major storms’: Professor says (www.news957.com)
  243. ^ Assurance: la protection contre le débordement des cours d’eau décolle lentement au Québec et au Canada (www.ledevoir.com)
  244. ^ ‘The new normal’: Brace yourself, Toronto, more heavy rain — and flooding — is expected (news.nationalpost.com)
  245. ^ Interview by Dr. Blair Feltmate on Flood Resilient Community Design Work (cirh2.streamon.fm)
  246. ^ Partnership to make new residential Communities Flood-resilient (www.exchangemagazine.com)
  247. ^ SCC/Intact Centre to study flood resiliency for new residential communities (www.canadianunderwriter.ca)
  248. ^ Experts Combat Community Flooding, Canada’s Costliest Extreme Weather Challenge (www.marketwired.com)
  249. ^ Press Release – Experts Combat Community Flooding (www.digitaljournal.com)
  250. ^ Canada’s Buildings Will Finally Be Built With Climate Change In Mind (www.desmog.ca)
  251. ^ Building codes across Canada to be updated to reflect climate change (globalnews.ca)
  252. ^ Canadian Cities Hit by Climate Change (www.cbc.ca)
  253. ^ Shelters from the storm: Preparing cities for a changing climate – before it’s too late (www.theglobeandmail.com)
1 2 3

Share